SAD

Picture 007
Fall In Apple River

A lot of people experience Seasonal Affectiveness Disorder (SAD) with the changes in the seasons, the lack of light can really change a person’s mood. They can find themselves affected to varying degrees. I don’t suffer a whole lot from it but do notice I have to make some extra effort to replace my negative thoughts with positive ones, and consciously engage in activities that I know will make me feel good. And so I’m happy to have those days when I am my higher self, which doesn’t just happen on it’s own much of the time, I have to work at it, pray, meditate, and have a willingness, even a willingness to be willing, when I can’t seem to get out of my own way. I am learning that, that inner goddess is there within me at all times, and I am learning to be kind toward myself.

For me, it takes resolve and some persistence to face and walk through the change of seasons from Fall to Winter.
This week I’ve finally had more time to myself, and honestly have been trying to stave off thoughts of the Winter.

I made up my mind to live one day at a time, in the present moment. I choose to do those things that help me to enjoy the Fall, enjoying the air, the sunsets and sunrises, making bread, chicken stew, and salsa with the tomatoes from my garden.

Picture 002
My Fresh Salsa

Yesterday I got my hands into the good earth one more time, and dug up my crop of potatoes and I pickled beets. These activities though they can feel physically taxing, nonetheless help me to feel connected with the elements, and spiritually I magnify these experiences, and am inspired by them. They give me an inner peace and strength.

I will say I miss my dog especially in the Fall, because we used to go for long walks into the woods. So now I walk alone, but not so much in the woods. Fortunately I have enough property to walk through the fields and down to the river, sit on a rock and listen to my higher-self.

Blue In West Bay
Blue Seamus the Coonhound

Leave a comment